Q cannot be serious?

by sharongooner


Dear  Members of Twitter, Friends on Facebook, and editor of Q Magazine Paul Rees.

As you maybe aware (or not if you are Paul Rees, just yet, bear with me Paul) I recently asked you to contribute to my internet based poll on who your favorite frontman and woman are of all time. (You may now get the gist of where this is leading Paul, I do hope you are still reading). I will briefly explain why I was prompted into such a task.

On Saturday morning I was lazing around, browsing twitter and various music links and articles. I somehow landed up on a page from www.metro.co.uk. It was titled “Oasis’ Liam Gallagher voted as best frontman ever” by Ann Lee. I found myself frowning and wiping the late night wine induced sleep crumbs from the corners of my eyes. Really? I thought. REALLY? How? I read on.

“1000’s of Readers voted” “beat the likes of Freddie Mercury and Bono”. Now hang about… WHAT ABOUT ALL THE OTHERS? I’ve nothing against Oasis, in fact I rather like their music, well, the anthem’s that you can’t help but know all the words to like Wonderwall, and I’m also a bit of a fan of Noel’s efforts at singing. But I never in a million years of no music would have thought they were the most popular amongst “1000’s” of music appreciators (unless the poll was ran by the Oasis Fan Club).

Anyway, I decided to relax a bit. Maybe it was just me. But it played on my mind. I know from my experience on twitter how vast and varied music interests of just 5 or 10 people can be, and I was finding it more and more difficult to accept this. So… I ran my own poll. I asked on Twitter and Facebook for people to give me their views. I also opened it up a bit and asked for their best female. Debbie Harry made it into number 12 of Q’s poll for frontMAN, so obviously some of the readers have a taste for something different (although I’d question their ability to differentiate between the male and female form, but I won’t pick hairs….) so I thought to make the poll as open and CLEAR and honest as possible to collate both answers.

Before I go further, this is “Britain’s Biggest Music Magazine’s” top 20 as voted by their readers:

The top 20 for Q’s greatest frontman is as follows (figures courtesy of Q magazine via www.metro.co.uk ):

1) Liam Gallagher
2) Bono
3) Freddie Mercury
4) Damon Albarn
5) Chris Martin
6) Matt Bellamy
7) Jim Morrison
8 ) Bob Marley
9) Paul McCartney
10) John Lennon
11) Robbie Williams
12) Debbie Harry
13) Mick Jagger
14) Morrissey
15) John Lydon
16) James Brown
17) Bruce Springsteen
18) Robert Plant
19) Tom Meighan
20) Joe Strummer.

Now I got a response from 145 people voting for their best male front man, now I know it’s nowhere near “1000’s” but even this small group of voters gave me 80 INDIVIDUAL ARTISTS between them! 80… EIGHTY! That’s a mighty lot of front men.

For the female I got 79 people nominating theirs and they gave me a sexy list of 33 beautiful front-of-band ladies.

Now this shows me two things. I follow (and am followed by) people who do not automatically vote for what is popular with the masses, but it also made me question whether the Q poll has been somewhat manipulated. Because I’m sure if I’d have had 1000’s of responses I would have had even more unusual/less popular artists nominated rather than one or two outstanding ones getting all the votes. I’m sure we will never know, but I am far happier and accepting of the results of my 224 voters (total) than I am with the Q magazine voters. Therefore my results are conclusive. And over-rule any previous poll. (I hope you’re still reading Paul).

So I’ve nothing more really to say than to thank you ALL for taking part. The debates that occurred via facebook were interesting, and people of twitter, you were amazing as always (exceptions: @hand_of_ike for taking about 6 replies before deciding, @mandrewB for constantly changing his mind, @themagicorange for his outstanding provocative description of Ian Curtis in less than 140 characters, @taranoodle for naming her every favorite solo artist in the history of music (ditto to @quantick), @biltawulf (just bless, as always), whoever said “Edward from Jedward, @leeboardman (Blacklace were a DUO, Lee).

As always it was a laugh, it was meant to provoke fun and lively debate, and certainly distracted me from the impending dark cloud that seems to be descending over this great country of ours.

Your best Male frontman EVER:

1ST: Freddie Mercury (21 votes)

2ND: Morrissey (10 votes)

3RD: (5 votes each) Johnny Rotten, Iggy Pop, Roger Daltry, Liam Gallagher

4TH:(4 votes each) Ian Curtis, Thom Yorke

5TH: (3 votes each) David Byrne, Mick Jagger, Michael Stipe, Bonn Scott

6TH: (2 votes each) Joe Strummer, Shane McGowan, Ian Dury, Jim Morrison, Bono, Mark E Smith, Anthony Kiedis, Mike Patton, Dave Grohl, Phil Collins, Tom Meighan, Bob Marley

7TH place with one vote each (nobody finishes last, you see. Ain’t my polls nice?)

Kele Okereke, Dave Gahan, Bruce Dickinson, Davey Havok, George Clinton, Ian Brown, Brandon Flowers, Kevin Rowland, Joe Cocker, Brian Johnson, Ian Gillan, Howling Wolf, Donny Osmond, Chris Martin, James Brown, Terry Hall, Marti Pellow, Steve Tyler, Peter Gabriel, Tim Boothe, Dave Bartram, Paul Weller, Robert Plant, Bowie, Evan Dando, Jon Spencer, H from Steps, Dave Lee Roth, Mark Knopfler, Justin Hawkins, Mark Lanegan, Eddie Argos, Scott Wieland, Liam o’ Maonlai, Jim Kerr, Bruce Springsteen, Ozzy Osborn, Gary Barlow, Wayne Coyne, Jimmy Summerville, Ian McCullugh, David St Hubbing, John Fogarty, Johnny Ray, Paul Stanley, Limahl, Billy Corgan, Adam Duritz, Marc Bolan, Julian Casablanca, Jarvis Cocker, Bobby Gillespie, Johnny Cash, Noddy Holder, Prince, Steve Marriott.

Best Frontman

Best Frontman

Your best female frontwoman ever:

1ST: Debbie Harry (24 votes)

2ND: Karen O (6 votes)

3RD: Chrissie Hynde (5 votes)

4TH: Gwen Stefani (4 votes)

5TH: (3 votes each) Courtney Love, P J Harvey, Annie Lennox, Siouxsie Sioux, Tina Turner, Patti Smith

6TH: (2 votes each) Susi Quattro, Sandy Denny, Bjork, Mama Cass, Sharleen Spitari.

7TH: (1 vote each) Alison Goldfrapp, Mary Weiss, Pauline Black, Wanda Jackson, Aretha Franklin, Poly Styrene, Diana Ross, Justine Frischmann, Nina Hagan, Peaches, Kate Bush,  Carol Decker, Cerys Matthews, Nico, Wendy James, Belinda Carlisle, Stevie Nicks, Louise Wener.

Best Frontwoman

Best Frontwoman

And that is all. For now. Until next time, GOODBYE! (I hope you enjoyed that Paul, no offence was intended, love and kisses x)

